Happy Birthday BabyGirl!!!

Today is Drama’s birthday.  My baby girl…my tiny little angel…is five.  I’m having some mixed emotions about it…I’m so happy for her because she’s been awaiting this day much like a teenager awaits the day they turn 21 and don’t have to rely on their older friends to supply them with cheap beer.  But I’m also feeling a bit of sadness as my baby girl grows up.  How quickly she has gone from resting comfortably in the crook of my arm to never (ever) resting at all.  I remember the day she was born so vividly…as I’m sure all moms do.  She was a planned c-section…I learned after 20ish hours of labor (including 3 hours of pushing) with her brother that my pelvis is very narrow, and not conducive to bearing children…and while her head wasn’t likely to be as big as Boog’s was, I was doubtful that my pelvis had widened in the year and a half since his birth.  So at 5:30 AM, 5 years ago, Snoop and I arrived at the hospital…excited and ready to meet our baby girl.  I was so proud of myself for not being nervous…everyone kept asking me if I was, and I wasn’t at all.  My biggest concern was if Boog was going to be OK.  I had never been away from him for longer than a day at work before, and I was convinced he’d feel neglected and be scarred forever.  (in reality he was in heaven watching Sesame Street and the Wiggles and eating ice cream for dinner with my dad)  It wasn’t until I was all prepped and hooked up to the monitors that the nerves hit.  All of a sudden I remembered what they were about to do to me.  I was going to be laying there…buck naked and fat, under the bright lights…while they cut me open to pull out a person.  I guess I didn’t have time to really think about it before Boog’s c-section…by that time I was so tired of tying to get him out that I didn’t care what they did.  But here I was…waiting and waiting and waiting…when I turned to Snoop and told him I’d changed my mind.  I didn’t want a c-section anymore, and I thought we should just go back home and wait til I went into labor.  I wasn’t ready anymore.  He was so great…reassuring me that I was going to be fine, and that I did want to do this because in just a little while we were going to see our little girl.

I went in for the surgery, reassured by his words, counting the minutes until I got to hold her.  Snoop was holding my hand…peeking over the curtain as much as he could…while I was being pushed and pulled and tugged all over.  It seemed like it was taking longer than it should have.  Snoop kept telling me “everything’s fine” but I could see it in his eyes that he didn’t have a clue what was going on.  I heard some banging around, and one of the nurses asked “where is it?”  I got a little worried, I mean…”where is it???”  It’s a baby, you idiot…where the hell do you think it is?  As it turns out, they were looking for the vacuum.  I had polyhydramnios (fancy word for too much amniotic fluid) and apparently my little girl didn’t want to leave her swimming pool.  She must’ve grabbed a rib and hung on, because they had a hell of a time getting her out.

It’s kind of funny…how she showed her personality even before she came into this world.  She is a willful little girl, and when she wants something her way…she’ll hang on as long as she can to get it.  She knows what she wants, what she likes, and dammit…there’s not much you can say or do to change her mind.  She’s the perfect mix of sass and sweet.  She can make me laugh like no one else, and is constantly finding ways to keep me on my toes.

Happy Birthday, Dramamama.  Thank you for letting go of my rib and hanging out with me the last five years.  You’re the most amazing kid, and I’m so proud of what you’ve become.

9 Responses

  1. happy birthday drama!!!!!! you should have posted a picture of the birthday girl.

  2. Happy B-Day to your big girl!

  3. 5, still young enough to be baby, though.

    Happy birthday to your sweet baby girl !

  4. happy birthday!!

  5. So sweet:) Hope you enjoyed her birthday with her:)

  6. Happy birthday, we cant wait to celebrate with you on saturday!!!!

  7. Happy Birthday to Drama!!!

  8. I’m seriously sitting here crying my little eyes out….That was a wonderfully happy sad story. Happy Birthday sassy drama. I love you guys!

  9. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

