Ain’t nothin’ but a number…

I think I have a problem. 

I think I’m having a pre-midlife crisis. 

I think have a crush on Zac Efron AND Joe Jonas.

What the hell?!  They’re cute and all, but they’re BOYS! I guess I’m not old enough to be their mom (well, I suppose technically I am but that would’ve made me one hell of a precocious 10-12 year old…), but at least their aunt.  Or mom’s friend. 

I watched the 2008 MTV VMA’s (remix edition, cause I’m too old and impatient for the real deal) and had no f’in clue who most of the bands and “celebrities” were (aside from Zac Efron and Joe Jonas, of course).  Sure I know Pink, Britney, Christina, etc…  But those are the old dogs of the VMA’s.  Who the hell are all those other people? 

I also think about my age a lot when I watch the new 90210.  Well…not a lot since it’s only been on twice, but still.  I find myself attracted to 2 of the students and a teacher.  Granted…the actors playing the students are probably not actually high school aged, but they are portraying high schoolers and that makes me feel kind of icky.  I don’t feel badly about crushin’ on the teacher tho…that’s the age I’m supposed to be into. 

Then yesterday shopping with 2 friends, I found myself being the only one of the 3 of us who was totally opposed to leggings.  Seriously…leggings???? I agree they look somewhat cute in some paparazzi pics in US Weekly, but in reality…I just don’t think I could pull it off.  Leggings belong on the girls I see walking to school in the morning…not on the mom putting on her eye cream and fat pants, rushing her kids out the door so she can listen to her morning talk show on the way to work.  My legging wearing friends are 3 and 4 (or is it 5?) years younger than me, so it’s not like I’m ancient or anything.  But maybe I have crossed the threshold of old lady clothes.  I like fashionable clothing as much, if not more, than the next chica.  But juniors department? No. Satin shirts? Not a chance.  Gladiator sandals? Helllll no.  Leggings?  Gag me with a fucking spoon.  Maybe it’s because I wore them during a more memorable time in my life than they did. They were in, what…elementary school?…when leggings were in. I was in high school, and I relished my leggings and multi-colored and stacked slouch socks and Limited shirts more than they probably cared about the cute outfits their mom picked out at Sears.  So maybe I’m not old…I’m just experienced.  And over it. 

Or maybe I’m jealous that my old lady ass would look like shit in a pair of leggings with a cute dress.

6 Responses

  1. Try the leggings. Seriously. I poo-pooed them at first and then tried them. I am a believer. You just have to be careful not to look like a teeny bobber. But it can be done.

    Chasing Fireflies? Have you ever seen cuter costumes for kids? Seriously precious.

  2. OH i was not that young i also wore slouch socks and limited shirts, i dont know that i ever shopped at sears. At least i dont crush on teenagers!! your just lucky i love you or i would take offense to the blog! oh and i will bring the spoon the next time i see you!!!love you

  3. I agree about the leggings….why must we bring the 80’s??? Yuck. I will never wear them……of course, that’s what I said about capris and there may be a pair or two in my closet!

  4. Ok I’m guessing I’m a bit older than you:) Were stirrup pants before your time?! Those were hideous. And yes, I even owned a few pair!
    I’m with you on the boy crush:)

  5. Okay, I said I would never do leggings again; but I succumbed and bought a pair. To wear with a long sweater. It actually didn’t look half bad. Don’t know why I did though. They’re uncomfortable as all hell… and I felt like I was trying way, way too hard.

    I’m MORE than a bit older than you are. So they sit in a drawer.

  6. There is nothing wrong with leggings! However, crushing on teens is the part I would worry about! LOL I just love you girl!

Leave a Reply

