7 things…

I’ve been tagged…woo hoo and yippee!!! 

Tammy tagged me for the 7 random things, so I will do my best to think of some completely random things about myself.  There are some rules to this one, and here they are…

The Rules:
1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share seven facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag seven people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog. So here it goes….

  1. I cannot swallow mashed potatoes.  It’s a sensory thing, I think.  When I was younger, my parents totally thought I was being dramatic and would force me to eat “just one bite” at dinner.  I’d gag, and threw up in my mouth a few times, and they still made me do it.  But honestly…I can’t get them down.  The hatred extends to most other forms of potatoes as well.  Except for super skinny french fries (only McD’s…all other fast food fries are too big and/or mushy) and chips.  I lurve me some potato chips.
  2. Snoop and I met in the junior high and we started dating in 8th grade.  We have been together, aside from some breaks here and there in high school, since.  And dammit…if I had a scanner on my laptop I’d love to scan a picture or two…there are some good ones!  My parents have always adored him, and when we got engaged they both told me that they were supportive but thought we were too young (we were 22 when we got married) and should wait a little while.  I, of course, told them they had no idea what they were talking about…after all, they were high school sweethearts and got married right out of college as well.  And ya know what…if Drama comes to me when she’s 20 years old and says she’s going to marry the guy she’s been dating since puberty, I’m going to tell her the exact same thing.  We were too young.  I wouldn’t trade anything we’ve experienced for the world…but we were too young. 
  3. I was a goody goody girl for most of my life…great student, teacher’s pet, never hung with the “wrong” crowd, never snuck out of my house, rarely broke the rules, etc…  Until Snoop sucked me into his pothead world my senior year of high school (though I was still a good girl…just hung out with the bad kids).  Then I went to college and completely went nuts.  As a result, I do not remember the vast majority of my college life…it was spent hanging out with a bunch of party-hungry boys (who are still some of the greatest friends I’ve ever had) chugging liquor in a marijuana haze and experimenting with just about anything that came my way.  There were lots of poor decisions made, but college was the best experience of my life and I wouldn’t change a minute of it.  I got the crazy of my system (aside from a few weekends here and there since then), and I think I’m a better, more mature, adult for it. 
  4. I lived in Hawaii for 3 years when Snoop was in the Army.  I had big dreams of learning hula, surfing, and being a total island girl.  Instead I got pregnant about six months after we got there, started grad school, worked full-time, got pregnant again, worked full-time, then moved to MD.  Looking back, I’m not quite sure how I handled working a full-time job while getting my master’s (and acting as secretary of Psi-Chi…Psych honor society thingy) while pregnant AND nursing a 1-yr old.  I must’ve had a very supportive husband or something. 😉
  5. I rarely take out my contacts.  There have been many many times when I’ll go over a month without taking them out.  I know it’s not healthy…and at my last eye exam they told me that I’ve done permanent damage to my corneas because they don’t get enough oxygen.  You’d think that would make me change my ways, huh?  Well, that appointment was about a year ago, and I’ve probably taken them out about 10 times since then.  4 of those times were within the first week after the appointment.  I know…it’s a problem.  Maybe I’ll take them out tonight. 
  6. I love Charlie and Lola.  The cartoon.  I could watch it over and over, and I get so sad when the kids go through a phase of not watching it all that much.  I just adore their little British accents, and the phrases they say.  For awhile Drama adopted a silly English accent and would say things like “I’m not keen on carrots” and “Easy peasy lemon squeezie.”  If that little scribbled cartoon girl was real, I’d adopt her in a heartbeat. 
    charlie and lola
    She’s so damn cute.
  7. I have an awful anxious habit of picking myself.  My skin, my lips, my nails…  I do it whenever my hands aren’t busy doing something else.  You can judge the kind of day I’ve had by how many marks are on my arms and how chapped my lips are.  It’s awful, but I just can’t stop.

 So…there ya have it.  I’m gonna spread the love and tag these wonderful people:

  1. Teri, my most favorite Bad Mommy
  2. Sarah from the Trenches of Mommyhood
  3. The hottest MILF around, Mamalicous
  4. Tara, at If Mom Says OK
  5. OHMommy, because she will certainly provide for 7 super classy responses
  6. PSlade from Our Crazy Wonderful Life
  7. Karen (AKA Pomtini) from A Day in the Life…one Glass at a Time

Now everyone who hung in there this long should go check out those blogs if you haven’t already, and tell them all how awesome they are.  Because they really are 🙂

4 Responses

  1. Man, you created more work for me 😉 I have grooming to do!

    (Amanda) The grooming takes a much higher priority…I understand. But everyone needs a break, right?

  2. Thanks for the tag… I will ponder on this one. 😀

    (Amanda) Ponder away…but don’t take too long. I didn’t do all this work for nothing, ya know 😉

  3. Thanks for the tag… I puffy heart Charlie and Lola. That is why I gace my middle child her blogging alias LOLA. I think it is cute.

    (Amanda) I had been wondering about her name…and whenever I read about her I always picture a little British girl! I’m so excited someone else loves that show…most people I talk to have never heard of it!

  4. Hey, thanks for the tag! I love your 7; I agree, Charlie and Lola are the cutest; and I”m picker too (#7).

    (Amanda) You’re very welcome…

Leave a Reply

